university of tulsa logo

Evren Ozbayoglu, PhD

Evren Ozbayoglu, PhD
Executive Director of TUDRP
Wellspring Associate Professor of Petroleum Engineering
College of Engineering & Natural Sciences
Petroleum Engineering
918-631-2972 Stephenson Hall Room 2265


PhD – The University of Tulsa MS – Middle East Technical University BS – Middle East Technical University


Evren M. Ozbayoglu is currently a “Chapman Endowed Wellspring Associate Professor” of The University of Tulsa (TU), McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering, and the Director of The University of Tulsa, Drilling Research Projects (TUDRP). He has earned his BSc in 1996 and MSc in 1998 from METU. He earned his PhD degree from The University of Tulsa in 2002. He started working at METU as a full time faculty, and continued working at METU till 2009 August. Since then, he is working for TU. Dr. Ozbayoglu has numerous publications and participated in several industrial projects on major drilling engineering topics as well as wellbore hydraulics, hole cleaning, and tubular mechanics. He was awarded for “Outstanding Technical Editor Award” for SPE Journal, SPE Reservoir Application & Engineering, and SPE Drilling & Completion for years 2012, 2013, and 2015, “SPE Regional Distinguished Faculty Award – Mid-Continent Region – 2013” within 2012-2013 academic year. He is an SPE member since 1994, and ASME member since 2015.

Research Interests

Drilling Engineering
Fluid and Solid Mechanics
Directional Horizontal Drilling
Cuttings Transport
Fluid Characterization

Teaching Interests

Drilling Engineering


  • Osgouei, Reza et al. “Pressure Drop Estimation in Horizontal Annuli for Liquid–Gas 2 Phase Flow: Comparison of Mechanistic Models and Computational Intelligence Techniques.” Computers & Fluids 112 (2015): 108–115. Print.

Courses Taught

  • Research and Thesis
  • Well Complete Dsgn Quiz
  • Well Construction and Completion Design

Professional Affiliations

  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • Society of Petroleum Engineers

Awards & Honors

  • Outstanding Technical Editor Award
  • Regional Distinguished Faculty Award
  • Chevron Fellowship